All you need is faith, TRUST, and a little pixie dust….

Trust is defined as: firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.

Trust is hard for most people; or maybe it seems that way when it’s you that struggles with it. I do struggle with it. No doubt about it. Trust is a major issue for me. I’m not sure where it started from but I really can’t think of a time that I didn’t trust my parents or any such time growing up. Maybe it was just instilled into me as an adult. Thinking I have to be independent and taking care of myself since no one else was. (That sounds truly bitter, but I’m not.)

When I got married I trusted my husband wholeheartedly and didn’t doubt him for one second. When you get married and are young and naive that’s easy. Well, maybe as you grow closer to God it’s easier no matter what age you are or what season of life your in. For me it was easy. I had no reason to not trust him. Through circumstances in the first few years of our marriage my trust slowly waned. Different little things but it doesn’t matter what; it was slipping.

Just this past week I’ve seen that I need to trust my husband with all my heart and mind and soul. Not just go through the motions but do it like I mean it. I missed yesterday’s Matthew reading so today I started in chapter 21. The barren fig tree:

“Now in the morning as he returned into the city, he hungered. And when he saw a fig tree in the way, he came to it, and found nothing thereon, but leaves only, and said unto it, Let no fruit grow on thee henceforward for ever. And presently the fig tree withered away. And when the disciples saw it, they marveled, saying, How soon is the fig tree withered away! Jesus answered and said unto them, Verily I say unto you, If ye have faith, and doubt not, ye shall not only do this which is done to the fig tree, but also if ye shall say unto this mountain, Be thou removed and be thou cast in to the sea; it shall be done. And all things whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.”

The importance of prayer is so huge and the only way to get over my issue with trust is to pray. Jesus can help me overcome my fear, my lack of faith and most importantly my non-existent trust.

The fig tree is an example of prayer and the POWER of it. If you have faith in prayer anything can be accomplished. The power of it is astounding. Jesus said the tree wouldn’t bear any more fruit. Guess what? It withered right then and there. Bam! No faith, guess what? God can help you with that. Pray and ask for help. Ask for a complete trust to wash over you. Bam! No more worries. Well, you might have some but that’s just doubt creeping back in. Pray again…. keep praying. It doesn’t hurt; only helps.

So, toss out your bag of pixie dust (how did you get that anyway?). All you need is the first two: Faith and trust and add a little prayer in too…

Standard

Leave a Reply

