Comfort Zone 101

So, this week has been hectic. Let me start over. These past two weeks have been crazy with my reading schedule. Meaning, I’ve put other things ahead of actually sitting down with my bible and notebook and reading. As is such I’ve been reading like mad trying to catch up. Still working on it. Down five or six chapters to where I am supposed to be. But it’s actually been nice reading more than one chapter. Feels like I’m reading a “book,” instead of my bible! Weird, but I think that’s one of the reasons I wasn’t really reading my bible. Because it’s not a book to me. Weird mindset, I know. But oh well. I’m weird. And I know it.

Reading through the plagues for me was really an eye opener because I remember all the kiddie stories and songs that go along with it and I’ve always looked past what’s in the bible. Actually written there. For me. I don’t remember ever learning that the plagues weren’t each told to Pharoh. Some were “surprises.” See, I thought Moses went to Pharoh after each attempt to get God’s people out and said: “look here Pharoh! Release God’s people or He’s going to do ______!” Totally not how it worked out. Surprised? I was. If you weren’t, I wasn’t either….

Also pretty interesting was that God put up a division between the children of Israel and the Egyptians when he was doing some of the plagues. Verse 22 of Chapter 8 says:

And I will sever in that day the land of Goshen, in which my people dwell, that no swarms of flies shall be there; to the end thou mayest know that I am the Lord in the midst of the earth.

In my bible it says that it was “demonstrating that the Lord can preserve His own people while judging Egypt.” God is might. He is powerful and He is just. Duh.
Thought it was pretty neat that even some of the Egyptians heeded God’s warnings about the plagues and they weren’t “hurt” by them. Like when the disease came to the cows, some of the Egyptians in Pharohs own house made sure there animals weren’t out and they put them up because they believed. And then when the Israelite’s finally left Egypt some of the Egyptians went with them. It mentions it in Chapter 12 (vs. 38):

And a mixed multitude went up also with them; and flocks and herds, even very much cattle.

I’m up to Chapter 14 now and it really hit me hard today. FIGHT! If ever there was a word I need to hold in my heart, it’s that. And I don’t mean picking fights or fistfights or something crazy like that. What I mean is that I need to FIGHT for my Lord. Simple things that could be everyday. Like reading my bible; I need to FIGHT the devil and get in the Word. See? Simple things. The Lord fights for me too. Something I need to remember every day, all day. I’m special enough to God that He loves me and He wants what is best for me and He will FIGHT for me!
When I was reading this chapter, that verse (14) stuck out to me like a sore thumb. I love it. I need to memorize it too. NEED TO MEMORIZE IT. (If I write it in all caps it will stick with me…..I hope!)

In this Chapter the Israelites have finally been “let go,” and there waiting at the riverside. They see the Egyptians coming. Probably a pretty scary sight. I’ve never seen chariots in person and have no idea how menacing they look but I’m sure hundreds upon hundreds of them scattering up dust and battle cries being screamed would make my heart skip a beat. Or two or three…. So what do I do? I mean they do? They cower down and say to Moses (or me to God) Why did you take us out of our comfort zone? Sure, we were slaves. Sure, we did horribly difficult things and suffered tremendously. Why, oh why did you have to take us away from that so that we could die here in the woods?

I don’t think many people like to go out of their comfort zone. If they did, I don’t think we would have “comfort zones.” It would just be space. And there we are. And there you are. And you want to come to my space? Ok. It’s not comfortable, it’s not not comfortable. It’s just there. And here we are.

I love my comfort zone and I’m cozy in it. Some things on my heart though are to put myself out there more. Like at morning exercise, God put it in my path to speak up to the ladies there and invite them a church event we’re having. Did I? No, I chickened out. Big time. Another thing is that I really want to go on a missions trip. Have I looked up airline tickets? Yes; have I emailed missions? Yes, but have I told anybody at the church my desire? Nope. Why? I have no idea. Fear of being told no? I don’t know, but I think it’s because I don’t want to “die” in the woods. I want to be in my comfort zone……

Standard

Leave a Reply

