“Who, me?!?”

Oh Moses. Oh, dear, sweet, scared, doubting Moses. God comes to you; in a BURNING BUSH. A burning bush and you still doubt Him? He turns your hand leprous and then cleans it, and you doubt Him? The whole deal with the snake/rod thing…. I guess you can’t really judge what you would do in a time like that. God asks far less of me, and still I doubt. I am scared. I act without faith. Oh dear, sweet, scared, doubting Holly….

I missed yesterday’s reading, a wonderful day spent getting things ready for my sister’s baby shower coming up. I did miss reading but it was a relaxing and restful day. Even with all the stuff that was done.

3:10-11

I’m going over my notes that I’ve written for the two chapters and I’m wondering if I read the same chapter twice! I picked out verses 10-11 on both chapter three and chapter four as “stand out” to me.
Come now, therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharoh that thou mayest bring forth my people, the children of Israel out of Egypt. And Moses said unto God Who am I, that I should go unto Pharoh and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

4:10-11
And Moses said unto the Lord, Oh my Lord. I am not eloquent neither heretofore, nor since thou hast spoken unto thy servant: for I am slow of speech and of a slow tongue. And the Lord said unto him: Who hath made mans mouth? Or who maketh the dumb or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? Have not I, the Lord?

Why does Moses keep asking Why, me Lord? He grew up in Pharoh’s house. Wouldn’t that dawn on you that you  have somewhat intimate knowledge of the Pharoh and his household and how it’s run? You know your way around Egypt…..it baffles my mind sometimes. I know, I know. God knew all this and He has His mighty plan and everything works for the good of Him. Still confuses me. Sometimes.

When Moses asks who he should say sent him, isn’t that sign that he will go? Then he hems and haws around until finally God says: Fine, I’ll get Aaron to go with you, you big baby!! (I may have added some words in there…)
Side Note: I remember as a kid some Sunday School lesson or discussion in youth group or somewhere along the line we did a study on Moses and Aaron and I remember someone saying that Moses probably had a stuttering problem and that’s why Aaron went with him. Besides that God had planned on it. It stuck with me, not sure if it’s true. One of the things I want to ask God with I see Him.

What really stuck with me today was that how often do I make excuses to do something? And how often do I ignore God when he talks to me; blatantly and not. Some things to ponder on today and this week.

Standard

Leave a Reply

