The Midwives

Today I embarked on a wonderful (at least I hope it will be) journey to reading through the bible. I don’t think I’ve ever read through the whole bible my entire life. So, through some comments not even aimed at me, I took it upon myself to do this. I should, anyway. I’m a Christan; I say I am, yet I haven’t read through God’s Word? I would say I don’t have the time, but it’s just laziness…..who are we kidding?

So, I joined an online bible study/reading group and today it was my job/task/joy to read Exodus chapter 1. (Now, I know I’ve read through Exodus, because I started reading through the bible once and only made it to Numbers. Hopefully that counts for something…..right?) Before I started reading I prayed that God would open up my eyes and give me wisdom and discernment in what I read.

Side note: Life with two little ones is a lot of fun. A lot. Most of the time. Guess what? When your trying to read your bible or have your devotion time? Not so much. Thankfully Jonah loves to play all by himself and he was happy out in the porch (bundled up, mind you since the temperate is below 75!) and Abby J is sitting at the table with me. Now, I’m dreading the moment she opens up her mouth to ask me something because I am so into reading. Well, the moment comes and lo and behold, it’s not so bad. She wants me to read what I’m reading aloud. Glory be to God! Or as one of my friends used to say ALL the time: Praise the LORD!

I was able to read through the chapter twice UN-interrupted again.  Then the questions started to come fast and furiously from my little bundle of energy. And not biblical questions like I was thinking….nope! “Can you help me go to the bathroom?, Can you get me a drink of apple juice?, Can I color with your highlighters/markers?,  Can you play with me?, Can you…… Finally I made her get down from her chair and go figure something out to play with.

After I cleared my head and put my focus on what was at hand I got down to brass tacks…..(I’ve just always wanted to say that- I got down to work!) My first “question” was to ask my self which verses really touched me or jumped out at me. I went back through the chapter again and vs.17-20 did.
“But the midwives feared God and did not as the King of Egypt commanded them, but saved the men children alive. And the king of Egypt called for the midwives and said unto them: Why have ye done this thing, and have saved the men children alive? And the midwives said unto Pharoh, because the Hebrew women are not as the Egyptian women, for they are lively and are delivered ere the midwives come in unto them. Therefore God dealt WELL with the midwives and the people multiplied, and waxed very mighty”
(KJV)

It makes me smile. Can’t you see Shiphrah and Puah? Just standing there in front of Pharoh, cool as cucumbers (in my imagination at least!), telling him it’s the Hebrew women. There too fast…. It makes me LOL. They didn’t fear Pharoh; they trusted God. And God blessed them “WELL!!!”
My mind plays this mini movie of them and all that I read and I think it helps to have the verses sink in.

I have to say that I can’t wait to read tomorrow’s…….

Standard

Leave a Reply

